The annual Folio: Top Women in Media Awards were created to celebrate, inspire and bring together the women who make magazine media such a dynamic industry. This year marks our 5th year of honoring women who have made a lasting impact on their brands, organizations and markets, carving out leadership roles that keep our industry moving forward.

Do you know a woman who is innovating media in new ways and guiding her businesses into new markets? Then she deserves to join the ranks of Folio: Top Women in Media Honorees like Melinda Lee of Meredith Corporation, Sarah McConville of Harvard Business Review, Christy Tanner of CBS Interactive, Samantha Skey of SheKnows, and Moira Forbes of Forbes Media. 

Folio: is excited to have the opportunity to salute our colleagues and leaders at a celebratory luncheon on June 7, 2018 in New York City.


Why Enter The Top Women in Media Awards?

  • Support Your Employees—Show that you’re invested in their careers
  • Make An Impact—Help inspire the next generation of female leaders
  • Publicity—Honorees (and their companies) will be profiled and promoted across Folio’s active community of Media Pros
  • Boost Morale—Our celebratory gala doesn’t just energize our honorees, it galvanizes her team of mentees and mentors


  • Change-makers

    Women who’ve successfully altered the course of their brands or the industry for the better.

  • Corporate Champions

    Women who’ve steered their companies into new markets, new opportunities, new audiences, and strong, measurable growth.

  • Entrepreneurs

    Women who’ve launched or rebuilt brands or companies and continue to work tirelessly towards their success.

  • Industry Trailblazers

    For executives (and women of all ranks) who’ve had an exceptional impact on the direction of their industry in ways that are measurable beyond just their own companies.

  • Motivators

    Women who’ve made an extraordinary effort, and had an extraordinary impact, on the careers of their colleagues.

  • Up and Comers

    Women on the rise, making their mark, even at the early stages of their careers.

2018 Lifetime Empowerment & Achievement Award Honoree

  • Martha Stewart

    Martha Stewart

    Founder and Chief Creative Officer // Martha Stewart Living & Martha Stewart Weddings

    Martha Stewart's career speaks for itself. She is an Emmy Award winner, bestselling author and successful entrepreneur and her name alone is a powerful brand. For nearly 30-years she has been a trailblazer, thought leader, advocate and mentor—continuing to push new boundaries in publishing and media in general. And that's what made her an obvious choice for our first-ever recipient of the Lifetime Empowerment and Achievement Award. Join us on Thursday, June 7th in celebrating Martha!

Past Honorees Include...

  • Jayne Jamison

  • Alison Overholt

    VP and Editor-in-Chief
  • Julie Wang

    Head of Digital Content
  • Bonnie Kintzer

    President and CEO
  • Janice Morris

    Head of Lifestyle and Publishing Partnerships
  • Teressa Lurk

    VP of Marketing
  • Lisa Sugar

    Founder and President
  • Windsor Hanger Western

    Co-founder and President

How to Enter

All nominations for Top Women In Media must include a narrative outlining which category they are entering in, and detailing their honoree’s specific accomplishments. Testimonials and other supporting materials are encouraged but be kind to the judges and keep it brief. Summaries must be no longer than 500 words in length. 

Please enter online and have the following prepared:

  • Category Entered
  • Key Contact for entry
  • Organization submitting entry
  • Title of Entry (Nominee name and company name as it would appear on the award)
  • Synopsis of why the nominee should win an award – If applicable, please provide specific accomplishments and milestones achieved by this person, specific traits and abilities that make this person stand out among peers and how this person’s influence extend beyond his/her company.
  • Any attachments you wish to upload
  • A headshot of the nominee

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees must be employed by a b2c or b2b media company, digital-only media brand, association publication, or work as a consultant or other services-provider to the industry.
Previous Top Women honorees may be nominated again.

Deadlines & Fees




The price of each primary entry is $375. If you submit the same entry into multiple categories, the additional fee is $250 per category. There is a late entry surcharge of $75 per entry for entries submitted after February 15, 2018. Payment in full must accompany the entry. Entry fees are not refundable.


Multiple entries are accepted and encouraged. A single nominee can be entered into more than one category. Please follow the “How to Enter” instructions for each category you will be entering.

Enter Now


Jessica Coonan For questions and assistance in entering please contact

Tania TabiukFor sponsorship opportunities, please contact