Welcome to the 2012 FOLIO: 40, our annual list of the industry’s most innovative and distinguished professionals. As always, the list represents every facet of magazine publishing, from every corner of the industry. Not reserved exclusively for seasoned executives, "The 40" honors individuals from the corner office to the corner cubicle, where new ideas drive meaningful change.



John Zieser | Chief Development Officer and General Counsel, Meredith Corp.
Desiree Rogers | CEO, Johnson Publishing
Rebecca Darwin | President and CEO, Garden & Gun
Greg Sullivan | Co-Founder, CEO, Afar Media
Gina Sanders | President and CEO, Fairchild Fashion Media
Andy Cohn | President and Publisher, The Fader
Brent Pearson | Chief Information Officer, UBM Electronics
Daniel Brogan | Founder, Editor and Publisher, 5280 Publishing, Inc.
Andrew Clurman | President and COO, Active Interest Media
Liz Schimel | EVP/Chief Digital Officer, Meredith National Media Group



Dean Horowitz | Vice President of E-media and Market Intelligence, Vance Publishing Corporation
Karen Schaffner | Publisher, Retail Environments
Jed Hartman | Group Publisher, Time Inc – Fortune and CNNMoney
Robert Newman | Creative Director, Reader’s Digest
Mark Golin | Editorial Director, Digital, Style & Entertainment and Lifestyle Groups, Time Inc.
Avi Zimak | Advertising Director, Tablet Media, Hearst Magazines
Matt Bean | Vice President of Product Development, Rodale
Scott Havens | SVP, Finance and Digital Operations, Atlantic Media Company
Michael Esposito | SVP, Head of Publishing, Group FMG
Steve Deluca | Vice President and Publisher, Departures Amex Publishing



Jonathan Shar | General Manager, Digital Newsstand and Emerging Digital Content, Barnes & Noble
Refkin | President, GreenPath Sustainability Consultants
Galloway | Founder and CEO, L2 Think Tank, creators of the Digital IQ Index and a clinical professor of marketing at New York University’s Stern School of Business
John Mennell | Founder & Chairman, Magazine Publishers Family Literacy Project
Marketing Services
Donahoe | Postmaster General and CEO of USPS
Apple’s Newsstand



Catherine Sharick | Managing Editor, TIME.com
John Jiloty | Vice President and Editor-in-Chief, Inside Lacrosse
Anjali Lewis | Associate Publisher, Creative Services, Vanity Fair/Condé Nast
Charles Lee | Senior Vice President, Strategic Programs and Custom Solutions, IDG
Meghan Loftus | Associate Multimedia Editor, Runner’s World
Kevin Shields | Director of Consumer Circulation, Grand View Media
Nikki Smith | Online Development Director, BNP Media
Bradford McKee | Editor-In-Chief, Landscape Architecture Magazine
Rich Antoniello | CEO, Complex Media
Kristi Dougherty | General Manager, Federal Daily Division (FEND), 1105 Media