Magazine Publishers of America and American Society of Magazine Editors have named this year’s recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards. Thomas O. Ryder, chairman of the board for the Reader’s Digest Association, is the recipient of the Henry Johnson Fisher Award, named for the founding publisher of Popular Science; and Lewis Lapham, national correspondent for Harper’s Magazine, has been chosen for induction into the Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame. The two will receive their awards at a lunchtime event February 1 at Gotham Hall in New York.

Ryder, who has worked in the magazine industry for almost 40 years and is one of longest serving members of the MPA’s board of director’s, as well as a past chairman of the board, was chosen for his commitment to diversity hiring and staff development. Lapham, a 30-year veteran of the industry, is being honored for his commitment to editorial excellence.

Both recipients will receive honorariums to donate to a charity of their choice. Ryder will receive $10,000 from Popular Science’s parent company, Time4Media, a division of Time Inc. Lapham will receive an honorarium of $10,000 from printing company Quad/Graphics.

Pay-to-Play: How to Use Paid Ads on Social to Amplify Your Brand’s Content
Check out this related session at The Folio: Show, November 1-2 in NYC!

Many social networks are turning to paid posts as their main source of revenue—none more so than Facebook, Instagram and…